Canada Federal Skilled Worker Explained

The topic may not be familiar to you, but no worries, as I will take you on a journey to explain what Canada’s federal skilled worker is all about. We will be educating you on the topic in the simplest way possible.

What is the program all about?

The Federal Skilled Worker program is designed for skilled workers who have foreign work experience and wish to settle permanently in Canada.


How does this program work?

In applying for this program, it is expected that you meet the minimum requirements needed to apply. The requirements are:

To apply, you must meet the minimum requirements. These include:


Skilled work experience

You must have work experience in a skilled occupation to apply for the Canadian Federal Skilled Worker program.

Language proficiency

You must be able to speak either English or French to qualify as a Federal Skilled Worker in Canada.



To be eligible for Canada’s skilled worker program, you must meet certain requirements, including education level, age, work experience, a valid job offer, language proficiency in either English or French, and a clean criminal record. Meeting all of these requirements will earn you points, with a current minimum pass mark of 67 points.

How selection points are used

The Express Entry Pool is a system that assesses your eligibility for the federal skilled worker program. Your profile is ranked in the pool, and high-scoring candidates can apply for permanent residency in Canada.

ten years of work experience in the specific skill, earned income or wages, and continuous employment for one year. These requirements are crucial for your application to be successful.

National Occupational Classification

To be eligible, you must have specific skills and work experience in the National Occupational Classification, which includes managerial jobs (skill type O), professional jobs (skill level A), and technical jobs and skilled trades (skill level B).

As part of the screening process, you must have at least the following skills:

  • You must have worked for at least ten years on the skill
  • You must have worked continuously for a year.
  • You must have been paid wages or earned income on the job

Part-time work experience

The federal skilled worker program assesses your qualifications based on specific criteria. Applications are processed in the order of the profiles submitted through the Express Entry Pool, with high-ranking candidates being eligible for permanent residency in Canada.

To be considered for the program, you must have at least ten years of experience in a National Occupational Classification (NOC) skill type O, skill level A, or skill level B. This experience must be paid and earned through full-time or part-time work; volunteer work and unpaid internships do not count.

Student work experience

If you have worked as a student and earned income, this can be counted as work experience.

Language ability

Language ability is tested through a language proficiency test, which evaluates your ability to read, write, speak, and communicate in either French or English.


In terms of education, you must have at least a high school diploma.

Proof of fund

You must also prove that you have sufficient funds to support yourself and your dependents in Canada and will not be a burden on the government.


Adhering to the guidelines is critical in achieving permanent residency in Canada through the federal skilled worker program. Feel free to share your thoughts on this article by leaving a comment below, and don’t forget to like and share with your friends and family.


Leave a Comment